Paul Tesar is Promoted to Professor

Congrats to Paul for his promotion to Professor in the Department of Genetics and Genome Sciences!

The Tesar Lab Gives Back!

Artur Gevorgyan, Baraa Nawash, and Marissa Scavuzzo encourage high school students in the Akron Upward Bound program to follow their curiosity and passion towards science careers.

Marissa Scavuzzo is Awarded the New York Stem Cell Foundation Druckenmiller Fellowship

The NYSCF – Druckenmiller Fellowship Program supports the most talented postdoctoral scientists at critical junctures in their careers who are in the pursuit of innovative and groundbreaking stem cell research. Congrats to Marissa for being awarded the NYSCF Fellowships for her project, “Understanding the cells that make up the brain inside your gut.”

Lucille Hu Wins First Place in CWRU’s Michelson-Morley Competition

The Michelson-Morley competition is the university’s annual research competition for all CWRU undergraduates who have conducted research in the biological sciences. Lucille was selected as a finalist and won first place!

Marissa Scavuzzo is Selected to Present at the Copenhagen Bioscience Conference

Congrats to Marissa Scavuzzo who was selected to present a short talk at the Copenhagen Bioscience Conference - Intestinal Organoids on her project “The function and regenerative capacity of enteric glia in health and disease.”

Baraa Nawash is Awarded CWRU's PSURG and an Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Genetics

Provost Summer Undergraduate Research Grant (PSURG) is a full-time summer program that supports undergraduate CWRU students. Congrats to Baraa for being selected to continue her research this summer in the Tesar Lab! Baraa was also selected for the Department of Biology's Award for Outstanding Scholarship in the field of Genetics!

Matt Elitt Wins the Doctoral Excellence Award in Genetics

The Doctoral Excellence Award in Biomedical Sciences is established to recognize outstanding graduate students in PhD programs at the School of Medicine. One student per PhD program is selected for exhibiting exceptional qualities in research, scholarship, service, and collaboration. Congrats to Matt who won the award in the Department of Genetics and Genome Sciences!

Marissa Scavuzzo is Awarded the 2019 Lehmann Outstanding Student Award from her Alma Mater.

Congrats to Marissa who was awarded the 2019 Lehmann Award as an outstanding graduating student in Baylor’s College of Medicine Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences! Marissa was also selected to give the commencement address at Baylor’s College of Medicine 2019 graduating class.

Zach Nevin Matches at Johns Hopkins

Congrats to Zach who matched at Johns Hopkins in their Pediatric Genetic Medicine Residency Program!

Paul Tesar Appointed to the Provost's Strategic Planning Committee - the 'Thinkers'

Paul Tesar is selected as a member of the Provost's strategic planning committee. The "Thinkers" will identify and assess strategic choices for Case Western Reserve's future.


Subscribe to News